Cycling, the importance of being Pedersen: Casper wins Paris-Tours, Mads la Ghent-Wevelgem

TOURS – A Sunday in the name of the Pedersen. Casper conquers the 114th edition of the Paris-Tours, a French classic held today on the transalpine roads over a distance of 213 km. In a two-man sprint, the Sunweb rider beat Frenchman Benoit Cosnefroy of AG2R La Mondiale. Mads on the other hand triumphs on the Belgian roads in Ghent-Wevelgem, anticipating the French Florian Senechal in a sprint. In third place Matteo Trentin ahead of Alberto Bettiol.

Paris-Tours to Casper

The right escape is formed 200 kilometers from the finish: Mikel Aristi (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Elmar Reinders (Riwal Readynez Cycling), Petr Rikunov (Gazprom-RusVelo), Sergio Roman Martin (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) leave, Emiel Vermeulen (Natura 4Ever Lille Roubaix) and Evaldas Siskevicius (Nippo Delko One Provence KTM). After refueling, the AG2R La Mondiale strength and the gap of the fugitives drops significantly, causing several riders to lose contact. About 50 kilometers away, Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale) tries to attack, favoring the subsequent action of a group of riders. It includes Benoit Cosnefroy (Ag2r La Mondiale), Rudy Molard (Groupama-FDJ), Quentin Pacher (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept), Casper Pedersen (Team Sunweb) and Alexander Krieger (Alpecin-Fenix). 2018 winner Soren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb) falls and is forced to retire. About 30 km from the finish, he attacks Cosnefroy and only Pedersen responds. Subsequently, a quintet made up of Warren Barguil (Arkea-Samsic), Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale), Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ), Joris Nieuwenhuis (Team Sunweb) and Petr Vakoc (Alpecin-Fenix), catches up and detaches the other pursuers , who try to organize themselves to play at least one place in the top ten. 15 kilometers from the finish, the two in command proceed by mutual agreement, and the five pursuers just stay close and break the gears. Cosnefroy and Pederson enter the town of Tours with a 25-second advantage, starting the tactical game to prepare for the final sprint. Pedersen takes the sprint in the lead by baptizing the right side of the roadway and manages to resist the return of Cosnefroy, who joins him but fails to overcome it. The Sunweb party is completed by the third place of Joris Nieuwenhuis.

Casper Pedersen won Benoit Cosnefroy from Paris-Tours

Mads wins the Gand-Wevelgem, third Trentin

One year after winning the World Championship in Harrogate, Mads Pedersen conquers Ghent-Wevelgem, which took place today on the 232.5 km from Ypres to Wevelgem. The race lights up with a breakaway that began after a few kilometers that saw seven riders as protagonists: Alexis Gougeard (AG2R La Mondiale), Mark Cavendish (Bahrain-Mclaren), Alexander Konychev (Mitchelton-Scott), Leonardo Basso (Ineos Grenadiers), Julien Morice (B&B Hotels – Vital Concept), Kenny Molly (Bingoal – Wallonie Bruxelles) and Gilles De Wilde (Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise), who managed to reach an advantage over the group of 7’34 “, and then recovered at about 65 km from the finish. On the first pass on the Kemmelberg, the group splits and, just before the second ascent on the same Kemmelberg, Trentin attacks taking with him a small group with Mads Pedersen and Stefan Kung. But he also attacks Wout Van Aert and thus forms a small platoon with Mathieu Van der Poel, Kasper Asgreen, Florian Sènèchal Yves Lampaert, Dylan Teuns, John Degenkolb, and Alberto Bettiol inside. The two groups rejoin on the third climb on the Kemmelberg. 15 kilometers from the finish, the action decisive with the attack of Matteo Trentin, Mathieu Van der Poel, Wout Van Aert, John Degenkolb, Alberto Bettiol, Stefan Kung, Florian Sènèchal and Yves Lampaert. At the final sprint, Mads Pedersen rules Florian Sènèchal and the Italians Matteo Trentin and Alberto Bettiol.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *